How Long

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

Cutemloose

How Long

Post by Cutemloose »

until you all expect your pups to pack up, and circle rabbits? I have a 7 month old and he started at about 5 1/2 months he is real slow on the trail and isnt packing up his bloodline suggests that they are medium running dogs. I am new to the beagle scene so I am just wondering what the experts think that means all of you.
Team Trackemdown- Missouri Rabbits Running For Their Lives

mike crabtree

Re: How Long

Post by mike crabtree »

If he is bred to run Flat Medium, and you are trying to pack him with fast dogs, you probably wont have much luck.
Wanna run Dogs? U R Invited.
276 620 1572

Cutemloose

Post by Cutemloose »

the dogs hes running with arent real fast i would say medium... just wondering what kind of time line you all think

Joeyman

Post by Joeyman »

cutemloose

my dogs are not a flat medium speed. they are faster than that. Upper medium is more like it.

solo they slow down. but in a pack they run faster on the line. and when coditions are right they straight book
Missouri rabbits running for their lives!!!!

Give us a like on FACEBOOK search for Track Em Down Kennels

Cutemloose

Post by Cutemloose »

I thought they were faster but wasnt sure I think he will do fine time will tell

Triple_S

Post by Triple_S »

this is what i know to be 100% fact.
1. the more you take them out the the faster they will learn, they cant learn from inside the kennel.
2. they will turn on when they are ready. all you can do is give them the opportunity.
3. this one was taught to me by my mentor. it's a good ideal to run a pup with a GOOD old slow broke dog.