Hounds do more than run rabbits!

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

oakhill

Hounds do more than run rabbits!

Post by oakhill »

Folks, I have been running the hounds for many many years. Those little four legged critters have taught me some of the most important lessons in life. Patience, loyalty, unconditional love, determination just to mention a few. One of the most important things I have learned from the hounds is…. It is the hunt not the kill. Do you think our hounds care how many rabbits are on the tailgate at the end of the day??? Nope. Or how many times we will get to fire our guns??? Nope. I have started thinking just like them. I am excited just to be headed to the field. :thumbs:

But, the most important thing these hounds have given me is the chance to meet some of the best folks ever to walk on this earth. I have made friendships that will last a lifetime. I am not talking about acquaintances that you see at the field trials every now and then and say “Hey”. I am talking about folks that will watch your back and if necessary will guard your front. They share with you the love of beagling and will do whatever it takes to help you out. This is a treasure more precious than silver or gold and it is the hounds that brings these friends into our lives. I could go on and on but want to share a story with you.