Whelping Female

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

Indiana Brian

Whelping Female

Post by Indiana Brian »

Question: I have a female that has a litter which is 3 weeks old now. I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas on how I can protect her teats when I run her. I'm not about to take her out and let her tear herself up, but I do believe she could handle running for an hour a couple days a week. Does anyone have any advice??? Also, how long after the pups are weaned will it take for the teats to go back to a "normal" size? I'm pretty new to this so any advise would be appreciated. Thanks, *Brian*

BJK

Post by BJK »

Brian,

Personally, I would wait until the female wean the pups and then give her time to dry up. A lot can happen to sagging breast in heavy brush with sharp thorns and sticky briars. Not to mention trash piles with broken glass and jagged edged tin cans. I forgot about the rusty barbed wire.

I was hunting this past season when one of my veteran females came up lame. Her chest was ripped open. I won't be as graphic as it was that day. She required 30 or 40 stitches, lost a nipple, couldn't hunt for 4 weeks and a nice vet bill. No, she had not been bred, her breast weren't sagging and she wasn't nursing pups. I hate to imagine what would have happened if she were. Good luck, but I would wait.

BJK

Beagleman973

Post by Beagleman973 »

Listen to BJK, it's not worth the risk, not to mention she has enough stress on her right now. It usually takes around three weeks for the milk to dry up once they stop nursing.
If you can't run with the BIG DOGS stay on the porch!

Alabama John

Post by Alabama John »

Brian, don't run her as the others have said.