Retriever Dog Food

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

dannycrlsn

Retriever Dog Food

Post by dannycrlsn »

My local feed store where I have been buying dogfood for many years is going out of business and I am forced to find another supplier. Today I purchased Retriever Hi-Protein Brand Dog Food (27% protein & 17% fat) at the local Tractor Suppply Store. Is anyone out there using this feed? Is it any good? I have been feeding Pride Brand dogfood either the 22% protein & 16% fat or the 24% protein and 20% fat with good results and am wondering how this will compare with the Retriever brand?

chapkosbeagles

Re: Retriever Dog Food

Post by chapkosbeagles »

you will like it the dogs do well on it. it is perina hi pro i think tractor supply bought the contract and it is sold as retriver that is what i was told by a sale associate

mybeagles

Post by mybeagles »

Is it any good?
Relative term......any good compared to what.....?

Compared to Purina High Pro, its in a simialar category.

Compared to Purina Pro Plan, or other premium foods like EVO, Taste of the Wild, Blue Buffalo, no its not any good.

I personally don't like grain based foods, but if you do, then this will not be much different. If a person is accustomed to eating hot dogs, is there a big difference between oscar myer and ball park franks? If a person is accustomed to Ribeye steak, and you give him a hot dog, its not as good. It all depends on what your accustomed to and what you expect from dog food.

If you go through TSC, they offer a multi-bag discount.

Mybeagles
Last edited by mybeagles on Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rob’s Ranger Rabbit Hunter (Lefty)
Rose City Quad King’s
DogPatch Fly

chapkosbeagles

Post by chapkosbeagles »