Disappointed with quality of dogs

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

augerhead

Disappointed with quality of dogs

Post by augerhead »

I've been running beagles for a long time, 30 years or so, It seems to me the quality of dogs has went way down. It's really hard to find an above average dog, lots of average, me tooing , back packing, non hunting, stupid barking, no nerve,and dogs that just don't have it. Is it just me expecting to much, or just remembering the good ones?? I don't know but I do know I put alot of time ,effort, and money in trying to find good young dogs. A buudy of mine who's benn doing this longer than me says its just me. He says the quality of dogs ia actually better than it used to be, he says it's just as you get older and have seen a few good ones that your expectations are higher. What do ya think, are dogs overall quality lower than they used to be or am I just to picky. By the way try to find a dog that will hunt hard in the cover where the rabbits are thin, and do it all the time no matter how hot, how thick,how cold,ect. not many in the last few years that I've seen. :mad:

BCBeagles

Re: Disappointed with quality of dogs

Post by BCBeagles »

You are asking for the kind people don't want to sell, but you have EVERY right to put whatever qualifications you want in what you are looking for. I say keep looking and hope you find just what you want!!! That description is out there if you find the right guys to get it. Took me a few years(almost 3) to get a pack of ones I like, this was just my scenario. I went thru a bunch!!!

Lee Cockman

Post by Lee Cockman »