NEED HELP in S.E. PA

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

boomer72

NEED HELP in S.E. PA

Post by boomer72 »

Im a total newb to running beagles and could use a seasoned vet to help me get a pup started and answer all the questions you thought you would never have to answer again. I have a 16 week old male with a pretty good pedigree and we are working, all be it slowly, on his obedience around the house. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jon Shea

Re: NEED HELP in S.E. PA

Post by Jon Shea »

Let him get out in the woods and explore at his own pace at least once a week. Get another to keep each other company and out of trouble while your at work ( keeps them quite in the kennel too ).
Work on the basic commands for now and keep putting him in rabbity areas he'll start when he's ready, have fun! :biggrin:

boomer72

Post by boomer72 »

is it really that easy? should i just let em run? how do i get him back if he takes off? should i wait til he is older 6mo. or what? sorry for the lack of knowledge but i gotta start somewhere.

likeemfast

Post by likeemfast »