line control

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

hounddog

line control

Post by hounddog »

Can someone explain to me what the use of line control is all about. I think it was something labeled back when there was one type of beagle. The walkie talkies or peanut rollers because they had nothing else to judge a hound on. They never shut up nor did they go fast enough to ever break down.
Now, a little about me. I've been raising hounds for forty years, starting out with beagles, then coon hounds then fox hounds to bear hounds and finally back to beagles.
Not once in my life have I ever heard a fox, bear or coon hunter say " I would have gotten more coons, bears or foxes if my hounds had better line control."
A hound was bred to run to catch and accomplishment over style. I can kill just as many if not more rabbits with a hound that might skirt a brush pile or reach in the check area as you can with a so called "great line control dog."
Somebody please help this ol hillbilly understand this phase line control and why it so important!
I do believe a man should raise and train what suits him so don't go there.

hounddog
Jim Umbarger
---------Jump Mountain Kennels-----------
540-292-3000

Rabbitridgerunner

Re: line control

Post by Rabbitridgerunner »

Jim, I couldn't agree with you more. I think line control just gives everyone something to talk about. Your phrase, run to catch says it all. :D

PREACHERS KENNEL

Post by PREACHERS KENNEL »

you r right jim whatever suits you .