First litter questions

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

shawnfrazier

First litter questions

Post by shawnfrazier »

My female will be having her first litter I'm new to it she got breed by my male I wasn't planning it but any advice on nutrition and right after pups are born I have about 2 weeks to be ready I took the divider down in her box so there's room for them

sammiller03

Re: First litter questions

Post by sammiller03 »

prob going to need to get some heat for the pups its still going to be pretty cold in two weeks. Im having a litter in about a month and planning on having her inside with extra heat. I keep it about 80 for the first two weeks then back it off. i worm at 40 days and continue with flea and tick control to make sure the female is parasite free. some people switch the female over to puppy food but i leave her on 26/20 feed and have never had an issue. I worm at 2,4,6,and 8 weeks with panacure and give first shot at 7 weeks . I cut off dew claws at two days old. hope this helps.

sam
Millers Old Line Kennel
Grantsville, Md.

shawnfrazier

Post by shawnfrazier »

How do you cut them scissors

sammiller03

Post by sammiller03 »

Small side cutters.
Millers Old Line Kennel
Grantsville, Md.

reddog1

Post by reddog1 »

Buy some Tums Ultra Strength 1000, give your female 1a day until she the pups. The calcium will help with contractions. My vet told me to do this about 15 years ago and it really does help.

Good luck

Reddog

pilotknob

Post by pilotknob »