New to Beagling and forum

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

LoneBeagle

New to Beagling and forum

Post by LoneBeagle »

I'm new to Beagles and the forum. I ran coyote hounds and been around hounds pretty well my whole life. Sold my hounds when my kids were born, couldn't afford to feed both. Now, my son's old enough to start learning about dogs...and rabbits taste better than coyotes (I assume; never ate a yote!)

I bought two reg. female pups from a local guy. He doesn't run his dogs, just breeds. My pups are good looking, smart, eager to learn/ participate, and should be small (one about 11" and one about 12"). I prefer the smaller dogs over the 15". They are 5 months old and I'm looking for some advice. I don't have anyone close (that I know of) to run with, so I'm working on my own. Here's what I've been working on:
-Found a dead rabbit and froze him (Roger)
-Take the dogs out a few times a week to local spots with plenty of rabbits
-I drag Roger around a few times at differing intervals and lengths, they seem to trail and find him pretty easy, heads down and tails ticking
-Run full speed with Roger dragging and let the dogs "sight chase" him and mouth/grab him a bit
-After our little "play time" with tracking and playing with Roger, I walk them around the woods and let them smell things out
-They don't seem interested in coon, coyote, or deer at this point, always stay on "Roger's" trail
-No whimpering or barking on the trail, they don't open up yet

I'm not looking to field trial these dogs, just want good dependable dogs in the field when winter comes. Does this sound like I'm at a good spot in the training? I have considered buying the rabbit urine/ training scent, anyone used this or have thoughts? Thanks.

David Bowers