Same Ol' Question

A general forum for the discussion of hunting with beagles, guns, clothing and other equipment and just talking dawgs! (Tall tales on hunting allowed, but remember, first liar doesn't stand a chance)

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

Cameron Denison

Same Ol' Question

Post by Cameron Denison »

I am new to hunting with beagles, and I keep reading all the different posts about young dogs not opening up, or opening up late or not jumping the rabbit but what does it all mean to us? If your dog has one of these faults as a pup, can you correct it? I was under the impression that you train your dog basic obedience, and the hunting instintcs were bread in. Here is my situation.

I have a year old male that has been in the field about 6 times. I think he does really well, but I have nothing to compare him to because I've never hunted behind dogs before. Typically we'll get out in the field and he'll start going to town. The second he picks up a sent he starts barking and going nuts. I figure this is good, but he usually doesn't get the rabbit up. He will find (or so I think this is what is going on) the spot with the strongest scent and start to work his way out, but as soon as the scent gets weak he goes back to the strong spot, never getting very far down the trail. I know dogs should check, but I think this is more of a problem than a good thing.

I just keep taking him out and hoping he'll kick up a rabbit and run it. He has jumped 3 or 4 rabbits, but has yet to see them when he gets them up and has yet to chase a rabbit. Am I on the right track of just taking him back out, time after time and letting him gain experinece? OR, am I letting a bad habbit just get worse by not correcting it somehow? I've had people tell me that I need to get him out with experienced dogs, but that's hard to do when you don't know people with experienced dogs. Either way I love to watch him work and I really don't care if we come home with rabbits or not.