NORTH CAROLINA ACTION ALERT NORTH CAROLINA ACTION ALERT

This is a good place to inform fellow hunters about bills and other legislation that may jeopardize our rights to hunt and free cast our hounds.

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

Post Reply
User avatar
TC
Posts: 3829
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:36 am
Location: Kentucky
Contact:

NORTH CAROLINA ACTION ALERT NORTH CAROLINA ACTION ALERT

Post by TC » Fri May 08, 2009 8:56 pm

NORTH CAROLINA ACTION ALERT



SB 695 Restraining of dogs introduced by Senator Linda Garrou (D, Forsyth) and Don Vaughn (D, Guilford) is scheduled to be heard in Judiciary I on Tuesday, May 12 room 1027 LB. Judiciary Committee meets from 9 – 11 AM.



BILL SYNOPSIS

SB 695 Restricts tethering to 3 hours in a 24-hour period. Mandates all tethers to be minimum 15-feet. Only exempts dogs while actively hunting or herding if the act of tethering is absolutely necessary. Allows counties, cities to reduce time of permissable tethering.



** TALKING POINTS **



* The goal of the anti-tethering lobby is to spread enough misinformation about tethering until all people automatically believe that tethering in any form is animal cruelty.



* The more restrictions the animal rights lobbying groups, such as the Coalition to Unchain Dogs, PETA, and HSUS, can devise to upset animal management practices the more difficult it becomes for professionals, hobbyists, hunters, and dog owners in general to continue their pursuits.



* SB 695 would discriminate among North Carolina citizens on socio-economic grounds. Those not in a position to put up chain link or other fencing, or relocate will be deprived of their pets.



* Tethering is a primary means of control and training of hunting dogs; the State should not regulate methods of containment which are better left to the discretion of responsible dog owners and hunters.



* Tethering can be the safest method of controlling a hard to contain animal. There are dogs that can escape from anything. They can chew through fencing and even chain link, break out windows, open doors, climb or dig under fences, and destroy wire and plastic shipping crates in seconds. These dogs can only be contained securely (and humanely) with a well thought out tether system.



* Setting time limits for tethering is unenforceable without stakeout and surveillance of owner’s property. Time limits will be used by spiteful neighbors to antagonize dog owners.



* Setting time limits discriminates against people who work and prefer to leave the dog outside and denies their animal access to the outdoors for the work day.



Additional talking points and contact information are available on the SAOVA website

http://www.saova.org/northcarolina.html



ACTION IS NEEDED NOW! CONTACT SENATE JUDICIARY I AND OPPOSE SB 695:



Sen. Martin Nesbitt, Jr. (Chair)

Phone: (919) 715-3001

Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net



Sen. R.C. Soles, Jr. (Vice Chair)

Phone: (919) 733-5963

RC.Soles@ncleg.net



Sen. Peter Brunstetter (Vice Chair)

Phone: (919) 733-7850

Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net



Sen. Daniel Clodfelter (Vice Chair)

Phone: (919( 715-8331

Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net



Sen. Josh Stein (Vice Chair)

Phone: (919) 715-6400

Josh.Stein@ncleg.net



Sen. Charlie Albertson

Phone: (919) 713-5705

Charlie.Albertson@ncleg.net



Sen. Philip Berger

Phone: (919) 733-5708

Phil.Berger@ncleg.net



Sen. Andrew Brock

Phone: (919) 715-0690

Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net



Sen. Harry Brown

Phone: (919) 715-3034

Harry.Brown@ncleg.net



Sen. Debbie Clary

Phone: (919) 715-3038

Debbie.Clary@ncleg.net



Sen. Ellie Kinnaird

Phone: (919) 733-5804

Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net



Sen. Malcolm Graham

Phone: (919) 733-5650

Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net



Sen. David Hoyle

Phone: (919) 733-5734

David.Hoyle@ncleg.net



Sen. Clark Jenkins

Phone: (919) 715-3040

Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net



Sen. Floyd McKissick, Jr.

Phone: (919) 733-4599

Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net



Sen. Tony Rand

Phone: (919) 733-9892

Tony.Rand@ncleg.net



Sen. David Rouzer

Phone: (919)733-5748

David.Rouzer@ncleg.net



Sen. Richard Stevens

Phone: (919) 733-5653

Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net



Sen. Jerry Tillman

Phone: (919) 733-5870

Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net



SPONSORS:

Sen. Linda Garrou

Phone: (919) 733-5620

Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net



Sen. Don Vaughan

Phone: (919)733-5856

Don.Vaughan@ncleg.net





PLEASE SHARE THIS MESSAGE WIDELY.


Susan Wolf
Sportsmen's and Animal Owners' Voting Alliance - http://saova.org
Issue lobbying and working to identify and elect supportive legislators
From Field to Show and Show to Field the way it should be

Post Reply