A Few Questions About Grooming A Show Beagle

Beagles in Show. Whether your beagle shows full-time in the ring or part-time at the field trials, this forum can be helpful and informative for those seeking better conformation in their beagles, and presenting them at their best to the judge.

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

beaglesarethebest

A Few Questions About Grooming A Show Beagle

Post by beaglesarethebest »

Ok First off I am new to the whole showing thing. I am going to be showing my mothers Schnauzer later next yr..

Well I also have a beagle that I would like to get him into showing..I thought the lady that I was takeing my beagle to had said she groomed a couple of beagles well she informed me early last week she hasn't a clue what goes into grooming a beagle.

She was going to try and find out but with the holidays she has been VERY busy (she is a professional groomer has her own business). So I thought I would come to all you who have been very helpful in the past.

So here are a couple of questions I should ask first...

#1 How often do I bath him? and do I bath his total body?, With Schnauzers u don't bath anything that is shaved..Strips the coat and makes it soft.

#2 How often do I brush him?

#3 Do u leave a collar on him all the time? Again with Schnauzers u don't puts a dent in their coat (breaks their fur)

And last for now

#4 what exactly do u groom on a beagle?

Ty again for ALL your help

Robyn

show dog

Post by show dog »

The beagle is supposed to have a stiff coat. If you bath too often it softens the hairs. I always bathed the dog before I went to a show to get the white bright. Also bath before using clippers, saves the blades.

Only wear a collar when outside the house, leaves a mark and damages the neck hair.

Brush him every day. Helps with the handling. I like a zoom groom brush to get the dead hair out.