trials lets try this again

Questions and Discussions about registry, rules and beagle field trialing in AKC. ARHA/NKC, CKC-Can, CKC-USA, PKC and UKC, etc.

Moderators: Pike Ridge Beagles, Aaron Bartlett

Vicious Kennels

trials lets try this again

Post by Vicious Kennels »

what I wanted to know from my last thread that went the wrong way right off the bat is as far as rules in the different formats what are peoples likes and dislikes. I have been trialing for 35 years and now run little pack and progressive and like the rules in both and also like some of the rules in ukc what I would like to know is if we were to start a new format using rules from all the other formats what are some of your favorites and the ones you would not want to see. example do you think a dog should be scored higher for a strike or a check would you use the line like ukc and if yes how would you score it, do you want a judge that has a dog in the cast and the cast votes on everything and so on.

R.W.Hawk

Re: trials lets try this again

Post by R.W.Hawk »

I like the UKC H&H style of hound , and scoring format. I hate the hunting judges, and cast members voting. The solution, non-hunting judges, with the ARHA protest structure.

Vicious Kennels

r.w. ukc says they can't do a non hunting judge do to a couple of reasons one you have to strike your own dog so it is hard to find a handler to know your dog well enough to strike it and they say it would be impossible to get judges without paying them and if they started paying them they would have to raise the entry fee. okay it's no secret I hate the hunting judge out of my first 24 ukc cast the judge won 22 times they say that is an exceptable ratio do to the fact the judges have better dogs then the rest of us. So how would you take care of the strike rule on the dog to allow someone else to handle your dog so you could judge and would you be alright paying a higher entry fee to have a non hunting judge.

NeilKimbrel7